wiadmin No Comments

Tropical Storm Hazards: How to Deal with Them

By Dez Duran-Lamanilao

The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) defines tropical cyclone as a non-frontal storm system that has low pressure center, spiral rain bands and strong winds. To distinguish the disaster types from one another, meteorologists refer to storms depending on their locations:

  • Cyclone – Indian Ocean and South Pacific
  • Hurricane – Western Atlantic and Eastern Pacific
  • Typhoon – Western Pacific

These disasters generally cause a wider range of destruction than floods. A noteworthy fact is that safety measures can be observed since their occurrence can be predicted several days in advance.

The National Weather Service has identified the key hazards from tropical cyclones:

  • Storm surge flooding – the abnormal rise of water resulting from storm’s winds
  • Inland flooding from heavy rains
  • Destructive winds that can put down buildings and manufactured homes
  • Tornadoes
  • High surf and rip currents – can damage structures along the coastline from as far as 1,000 miles offshore

Here are some tips to protect yourself, your family and your property from these hazards:

  • Have an escape route in case there is a need to evacuate.
  • Prepare a disaster supplies kit that contains the following

Image source: Weather Underground

  • Listen to local authorities and follow their advice, however unreasonable it may first sound. Heed all warnings. They are in the best position to do so.
  • Stay away from windows or glass areas.
  • Secure the walls, roof and eaves of your home.
  • Unless instructed or forced to evacuate, remain indoors and stay in the strongest part of the house/building.

If you have properties along the coastline, one of the most effective ways to protect them from these natural phenomena is getting the right insurance.

Whitehaven commits to resolve any issues during these catastrophic events as they have expertise when it comes to the current insurance conditions along the Gulf Coast. You may probably have been aware of the risks when you decided to purchase that property. Through proper management and an open mind, you are on your way of getting over the stress caused by such potential risks.

wiadmin No Comments

Tropical Storm & Hurricane Preparations for Condominium Associations

 

TROPICAL STORM / HURRICANE PREPARATION

CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATIONS

 

  • Provide Whitehaven with the name of the current insurance contact representing your association. (Name, Phone Numbers, and E-mail Address)
  • If you have a catastrophe contract with a general contractor contact them to assist you in securing your property when and if it becomes necessary.
  • Place loose unsecured items inside the building or storage unit. (Pool/Patio Furniture, Trash Cans, Signs etc.)
  • Place loose unsecured private property inside the individual units. (Patio Furniture, Plants, Door Mats etc.)
  • Raise elevators to the highest floor and shut down power.
  • Protect glass doors and windows with storm shutters or plywood if possible.

 

POST STORM

 

  • Contact Whitehaven to report damage. (Phone Numbers provided below)
  • Go ahead and make repairs to prevent further damage. (Make sure to take plenty of pictures and keep all receipts for the adjuster so you can include the temporary repair expenses in your claim)
  • Do not make permanent repairs until an insurance adjuster sees the property and advises you on what steps to take.
  • Provide the adjuster with current contact information of the insurance contact representing your association. (Name, Phone Numbers, and E-mail Address) This will allow the adjuster to work with one person from the association which will prevent confusion and help expedite the claim.

WHITEHAVEN CONTACT INFORMATION

 

www.whitehaveninsurance.com

 

Whitehaven Insurance Gulf Shores Office                  (251) 967-3323

Whitehaven Insurance Atlanta Office                          (770) 267-3323

Please report claims to the office numbers or through our website

 

 

EMERGENCY CONTACT INFORMATION

 

Name                        E-mail Address                                                       Direct Line**

 

Lance Alexander         lance.alexander@whitehaveninsurance.com            (251) 967-1107

Debbie Gibson             debbie.gibson@whitehaveninsurance.com               (251) 968-3407

Cindy Gooch                cindy.gooch@whitehaveninsurance.com                  (251) 967-3426

Scott Harris                 scott.harris@whitehaveninsurance.com                   (251) 967-3425

Dora Hartsock             dora.hartsock@whitehaveninsurance.com               (251) 967-5206

Kelly Henderson          kelly.henderson@whitehaveninsurance.com            (251) 968-3404

John Sadlis                  john.sadlis@whitehaveninsurance.com                     (251) 424-1758

Barbara Schillace        barbara.schillace@whitehaveninsurance.com          (251) 968-3406

Crystal Sizemore         crystal.sizemore@whitehaveninsurance.com           (251) 967-1079

Debbie Walters           debbie.walters@whitehaveninsurance.com              (251) 968-3406

Bruce White                bruce.white@whitehaveninsurance.com                   (770) 267-3323

 

**Direct lines are transferred to the agent’s cell phone