wiadmin No Comments

Alabama Boating Laws and Regulations: An Overview

In Alabama and several other US states, any individual aged 12 and older who intends to operate a motorized boat needs to seek education. Those who are between 12 and 13 years need to be supervised by another person who is at least 21 years of age and capable of taking immediate control of the boat if necessary. Do note that completing a boating course is different from actually having a boating license.

Operators who meet any of the following criteria need not get a boating certification:

  • With a legal US Coast Guard Motorboat Operator’s License
  • Successfully accomplished a safe boating course approved by the ALEA Marine Police Division or a similar course offered by US Power Squadrons or the US Coast Guard Auxiliary
  • Aged 40 years or older as of April 28, 1994.

You need to register a boat within 72 hours after its purchase. Most powered watercraft (sailboats, mechanically propelled vessels, rental boats) must be registered in Alabama, except for the following:

  • Non-motorized boats
  • Boat trailers
  • Are registered and kept in another state (Note: Boats are allowed to operate for 90 days or less.)
  • With temporary certificates of number
  • Registered in another country and just temporarily operating in Alabama
  • A ship’s lifeboats
  • Owned by a government entity/agency
  • Have a commercial documentation with the US Coast Guard

The National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) also provides boat certification to ensure adherence to the American Boat & Yacht Council (ABYC) standards. Around 90% of boats are built to ABYC Standards.

A boat safety course is usually taken by operators to save on their personal watercraft (PWC) or boat insurance. Insurance companies acknowledge the less likelihood of filing a claim for those who have taken the effort to commit to safety education and thus are open to lowering boat insurance rates. To guarantee the best possible premiums, consult with your insurance agent first before signing up.

By Dez Duran-Lamanilao

wiadmin No Comments

Tropical Storm & Hurricane Preparations for Condominium Associations

 

TROPICAL STORM / HURRICANE PREPARATION

CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATIONS

 

  • Provide Whitehaven with the name of the current insurance contact representing your association. (Name, Phone Numbers, and E-mail Address)
  • If you have a catastrophe contract with a general contractor contact them to assist you in securing your property when and if it becomes necessary.
  • Place loose unsecured items inside the building or storage unit. (Pool/Patio Furniture, Trash Cans, Signs etc.)
  • Place loose unsecured private property inside the individual units. (Patio Furniture, Plants, Door Mats etc.)
  • Raise elevators to the highest floor and shut down power.
  • Protect glass doors and windows with storm shutters or plywood if possible.

 

POST STORM

 

  • Contact Whitehaven to report damage. (Phone Numbers provided below)
  • Go ahead and make repairs to prevent further damage. (Make sure to take plenty of pictures and keep all receipts for the adjuster so you can include the temporary repair expenses in your claim)
  • Do not make permanent repairs until an insurance adjuster sees the property and advises you on what steps to take.
  • Provide the adjuster with current contact information of the insurance contact representing your association. (Name, Phone Numbers, and E-mail Address) This will allow the adjuster to work with one person from the association which will prevent confusion and help expedite the claim.

WHITEHAVEN CONTACT INFORMATION

 

www.whitehaveninsurance.com

 

Whitehaven Insurance Gulf Shores Office                  (251) 967-3323

Whitehaven Insurance Atlanta Office                          (770) 267-3323

Please report claims to the office numbers or through our website

 

 

EMERGENCY CONTACT INFORMATION

 

Name                        E-mail Address                                                       Direct Line**

 

Lance Alexander         lance.alexander@whitehaveninsurance.com            (251) 967-1107

Debbie Gibson             debbie.gibson@whitehaveninsurance.com               (251) 968-3407

Cindy Gooch                cindy.gooch@whitehaveninsurance.com                  (251) 967-3426

Scott Harris                 scott.harris@whitehaveninsurance.com                   (251) 967-3425

Dora Hartsock             dora.hartsock@whitehaveninsurance.com               (251) 967-5206

Kelly Henderson          kelly.henderson@whitehaveninsurance.com            (251) 968-3404

John Sadlis                  john.sadlis@whitehaveninsurance.com                     (251) 424-1758

Barbara Schillace        barbara.schillace@whitehaveninsurance.com          (251) 968-3406

Crystal Sizemore         crystal.sizemore@whitehaveninsurance.com           (251) 967-1079

Debbie Walters           debbie.walters@whitehaveninsurance.com              (251) 968-3406

Bruce White                bruce.white@whitehaveninsurance.com                   (770) 267-3323

 

**Direct lines are transferred to the agent’s cell phone